SUBCOMMITTEE ON

NATIONAL PARKS AND INSULAR AFFAIRS

February 17, 1978

In consideration of:

H.R.	6230
H.R.	6231
H.R.	10970
H.R.	10971

(Mr. Tsongas, et al) "To provide for the establishment of the Lowell National Cultural Park in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, and for other purposes."

WITNESSES

- Honorable William G. Whalen, Director, National Park Service,
 Department of the Interior + Dr. Richard Curry, Chief
 Office of Legislation, Dept of the Interior + Jack Benjamin, Federal/state
 Liaison Officer
- Honorable Thomas P. O'Neill, III, Lieutenant Governor, Commonwealth of Massachusetts
- Dr. Patrick Malone, Historian, Slater Mill, Pawtucket, Rhode Island
- Mr. Robert Vogel, Curator, Industrial Archeology, Smithsonian Institution
- Dr. Patrick Mogan, Superintendent of Schools, Lowell, Massachusetts accompanied by:
 - Mr. Jonathan Lane, The Lowell Team
 - Mr. Dennis Frenchman, The Lowell Team
 - Mr. Michael Sand, The Lowell Team
- Honorable Leo Farley, State Representative, Lowell, Massachusetts accompanied by:
 - Ms. Karen Carpenter, Executive Director, Human Services Co., Lowell, Massachusetts
 - Clementine Alexis, Vice Pres. Human Servius Corp. Board of Drectors
- Mr. George Duncan, Executive Vice President, First Bank and Trust, Chelmsford, Massachusetts; President, Lowell Development and Financial Corporation accompanied by:
 - Mr. Arthur Kelts, Executive Director, Greater Lowell Chamber of Commerce
- Mr. Joseph Dziczek, President, Lowell Central Labor Council, AFL-CIO accompanied by:
 - Mr. George Eliades, Chairman, Lowell Historical Commission

Mr. William S. Taupier, City Manager, Lowell, Massachusetts accompanied by:

Honorable Raymond F. Rourke, Mayor, City of Lowell, Massachusetts accompanied by:

Mr. Edward Kennedy, Jr., Lowell City Councillor Mr. Brian Delaney, Lowell City Councillor

Mr. Armand LeMay, Lowell City Councillor, Chairman, Lowell Heritage State Park Steering Committee accompanied by:

Mr. Raymond J. Lord, Jr., Lowell City Councillor

Mr. Samuel Pollard, Lowell City Councillor

Honorable Richard Kendall, Commissioner, Massachusetts Department of Environmental Management

Mr. Frank Keefe, Director, Massachusetts Office of State Planning

Mr. Lewis T. Karabatsos, Director, Lowell Museum

Ms. Mary Lena, Member, Board of Directors, Lowell <u>Sun;</u> Member Board of Directors, Lowell Museum

Mr. Edward A. Larter, Owner, Wannalancit Mill Dr. John B. Duff, President, Lowell University

Mr. Robert Garvey, Chairman, President's Advisory Council on Historic Preservation

Ms. Nellie Longsworth, President, Preservation Action