CO-CHAIRMEN

Edward P. Boland Silvio O. Conte

June 17, 1978

MEMBERS

Connecticut

William R. Cotter Christopher J. Dodd Robert N. Giaimo Stewart B. McKinney Ronald A. Sarasin Toby J. Moffett

Maine

David F. Emery William S. Cohen

Massachusetts

Silvio O. Conte Edward P. Boland Joseph D. Early Robert F. Drinan Paul E. Tsongas Michael J. Harrington Edward J. Markey Thomas P. O'Neill, Jr. John J. Moakley Margaret M. Heckler James A. Burke Gerry E. Studds

New Hampshire Norman E. D'Amours James C. Cleveland

Rhode Island Edward P. Beard

Vermont

James M. Jeffords

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Robert L. Pratt

To: New England Congressional Caucus

Rob Pratt From:

Co-sponsorship of House Resolution for Subject:

Eliminating Slot Problem under Clerk-Hire

Contributions

Congressman John Breckinridge, Chairman of the House Rural Caucus, has been vigorously pushing a House Resolution designed to eliminate the slot problem under clerk-hire contributions for groups such as the New England Congressional Caucus. So far, his resolution has over 120 co-sponsors, and he is having some luck in pushing the proposal in the House Administration Committee.

The resolution is short and simple. It says that in any case where more than one Member of the House share clerk-Fernand J. St Germain hire expenses for a Congressional employee, then only one "slot" will be required. In other words, Members would not need an extra slot in order to contribute clerk-hire funds to the Caucus as long as one Member carried the slot on a regular basis. This proposal was included within the Obey Commission recommendations as well, but it went down with the other Obey proposals.

> Adoption of this resolution would remove one of the most odious and difficult provisions for groups such as us, insofar as providing month to month salaries. Therefore, your assistance in two ways would be most appreciated.

- 1) Please Co-sponsor Congressman Breckinridge's House Resolution if you haven't done so already by calling Randy Weiss at 225-4706.
- 2) Please talk to Chairman Frank Thompson of the House Administration Committee urging him to proceed on this change.

New England Co-sponsors to date are listed on the following page.