# Program of Worship

## January 22, 1922

11 o'clock a. m.

F	Piano Prelude	
Γ	Ooxology	
I	nvocation	
A	nthem	By A. M. A. Chorus
F	Tymn 213	
S	cripture Reading	A December 1
Р	rayer	
H	Iymn 567	
A	announcements and Communications	
C	Offering	
S	ermon	Rev. Alexander Sprunt, D. D.
Р	rayer of Dedication	By Pastor
F	Iymn 531	
P	Senediction	

A95

## Augusta Stone Church

(ENLARGED)



#### Dedicated January 22, 1922

The enlargement of Augusta Stone Church was not prompted by sentimental reasons—for sentiment naturally pulled in the opposite direction; and not by ostentation—that is not the characteristic of the descendants of unprotentious forbears. Certainly it was not prompted by a desire to dispose of surplus wealth—that not being necessary in the country church at present—but entirely by an imperative need for Sunday school equipment and to meet the needs of enlarged hopes and efforts for expansion and development, so characteristic of all aggressive, forward-looking churches of today.

That the people have co-operated by their faith and prayers with the wise, tactful, and faithful building committee is evidenced by the building you occupy today, Messrs. Edward McKim McCue, chairman, J. F. Brooks, T. J. Roller, Millard Johnson, and J. M. McCue being the committee, Major C. S. Roller, Jr., chairman of finance committee, and Jno. D. Palmer treasurer of building fund.

This enlarged equipment means enlarged responsibility upon the church for better service to the immediate community; its two outposts, Bezetha and New Hope, and a deepening of our interest in the work of the church at large, and especially in our two representatives at the front, Miss See in Brazil, and Mr. Gilliam in Africa.

## Organization

SESS SESS	SION			
PETER H.	See, Clerk			
Edward McK. McCue	R. C. Byers			
W. A. McCutchan	J. A. Crawford			
J. W. Calhoun	Frank McCue			
BOARD OF	DEACONS			
J. F. Brook	s, Chairman			
J. C. McCue R.S.S.X				
John D. Palmer, Treas.	I. W. WHITMER			
T. J. WHITE, Sec.	S. C. Byers			
SABBATH SCHOOL				
SABBATH	SCHOOL			
Supt	Secretary WALLACE McCutchan			
	Secretary WALLACE McCutchan			
Supt	SecretaryWALLACE McCutchan TreasurerMiss Mayme Sites			
Supt	Secretary WALLACE McCutchan Treasurer Miss Mayme Sites AUXILIARY			
Supt	Secretary WALLACE McCutchan Treasurer Miss Mayme Sites AUXILIARY			
Supt	Secretary WALLACE McCUTCHAN Treasurer MISS MAYME SITES AUXILIARY Secretary Mrs. Jno. B. Gordon Treasurer Miss Bessie See			
Supt	Secretary WALLACE McCUTCHAN Treasurer MISS MAYME SITES AUXILIARY Secretary Mrs. Jno. B. Gordon Treasurer Miss Bessie See SSOCIATION			
Supt	Secretary WALLACE McCUTCHAN Treasurer MISS MAYME SITES AUXILIARY Secretary Mrs. Jno. B. Gordon Treasurer Miss Bessie See SSOCIATION Secretary Major C. S. Roller, Jr.			
Supt	Secretary WALLACE McCUTCHAN Treasurer MISS MAYME SITES AUXILIARY Secretary Mrs. Jno. B. Gordon Treasurer Miss Bessie See SSOCIATION Secretary Major C. S. Roller, Jr.			

Present Board of Deacons, and R. C. Byers, S. H. Parkins, Major C. S. Roller, Jr.,

P. H. See.

# Augusta Stone Church

1749-1922



### Dedicated January 22, 1749

There is no record of the length of time our forefathers were engaged in building the Old Stone Church. Under conditions then existing, it possibly took several years to collect the material and fashion it into such a building. The stones and timbers used were, likely, secured at no great distance from the site chosen for the building. Tradition says the sand for the mortar was carried by the women, on pack horses, several miles; not over good roads, but over rugged and ungraded bridle-paths. The work was well done, and the mortar became almost as hard as the stones it bound together. The church was completed and the dedication took place January 22, 1749, just one hundred and seventy-three years ago. Augusta Church has had ten pastors—the first four pastorates covering a period of one hundred and twenty years. Rev. John Craig was pastor from 1740-1774. Rev. William Wilson from 1780-1810. Rev. Conrad Speece from 1813 to 1836. Rev. William Brown from 1836-1860, Rev. F. W. Bowman from 1861-1868. Rev. I. W. K. Handy from 1870-1878. Rev. Alexander Sprunt from 1879-1885. Rev. G. L. Bitzer from 1885-1889. Rev. J. N. Van Devanter from 1891-1917. Rev. John B. Gordon from 1917 to the present time.